Willowbrook inducts Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2024

To view photo captions, click on the images above.

Each year, Willowbrook recognizes and celebrates the athletic and personal successes of standout student-athletes, coaches and contributors through the school’s annual Athletic Hall of Fame. This distinguished event was founded in 2010 and is a way to honor the alumni who have helped create and continue the legacy of Pride, Tradition and Excellence that is Willowbrook High School.

On Feb. 1, Willowbrook inducted members into its Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2024 during a dinner at The Carlisle in Lombard. Willowbrook Principal Dr. Daniel Krause, Willowbrook Athletic Director Ed Sullivan and Willowbrook Athletic Hall of Fame President Helen Connell greeted the crowd. Emcees for the evening were Bryan Murphy Sr. (former Willowbrook teacher, dean and coach) and Bob Daly (Willowbrook learning services teacher and former athletic director and assistant principal). Willowbrook English teacher Jim White, an Athletic Hall of Fame inductee (Class of 2022), gave the Address to the Class of 2024.

To view the 2024 Athletic Hall of Fame program, which includes biographies of the honorees, go to https://dupage88.net/site/public/files/?item=7163. To watch the induction ceremony, click on the video above.

Class of 2024 inductees are:

  • Helen Connell: Outstanding Contributor – Athletic Booster Club President, President of the Athletic Hall of Fame Board of Directors

  • Beth Gray: Gymnastics Coach – 1982-2009

  • Jerome Bonney: Class of 1966 – Gymnastics, Track and Field

  • Dave Whelpley: Class of 1976 – Football, Wrestling

  • Marjorie Fiedler: Class of 1977 – Volleyball, Basketball, Tennis, Softball, Track and Field

  • Brandon Murphy: Class of 2001 – Wrestling Coach, Badminton Coach, Athletic Director, Wrestling

Inductees also were recognized before the Willowbrook Varsity Boys Basketball game on Feb. 2.

For more information, contact Willowbrook Athletic Director Ed Sullivan at esullivan@dupage88.net or 630-530-3406.