

R.E.A.D.S. Chapter

National English Honor Society



Induction Ceremony
Doris White Auditorium
April 13th, 2017
7:00 p.m.

Willowbrook High School

"Read All about It"

Opening Remarks...... Mrs. Melissa McCann

English Co-Curricular

Snapshots..... Owen Allen

Theater/Thespians

Rachel Wiedman

Skyline

Julia & Kathleen Cicero

Speech Team

Hannah Hippensteel

Centurion

Leah Gillono &

Rachel Wagner

NEHS

Introduction of Keynote Speaker..... Leah Gillono &

Rachel Wagner

Keynote Speaker..... Mrs. Regina Wathier

Induction of Students..... Ms. Christine Calandra

Mrs. Melissa McCann

Closing Remarks...... Mrs. Melissa McCann

2016-2017 English Department

Brett Blair, Dept. Chair Tara Murphy Leslie Allenspach Brian Shanahan Ashley Anderson Michael Sullivan Daniel Bannon Diane Vegter Christine Calandra Regina Wathier Lisa Cuscaden James White Daniel Fliegel Andrew Wilhoit Scott Grobstein Kathryn Wilson Marina Gozzetti Terri Woebel

Melissa McCann

Willowbrook High School Administration

Mr. Daniel Krause Principal
Mr. Thomas Cantlin Assistant Principal
Mr. Doug Wildes Assistant Principal
Mr. Robert Daly Athletic Director

District 88 Board of Education

Mrs. Donna Craft Cain Ms. Bianca Jessen Mr. Thomas Edmier Mrs. Sharon Kucik Mr. Timothy Gillen Mrs. Lisa Lullo

Mr. Jay Irvin

A Special Thank You

Auditorium Staff & Crew

Brett Blair

The Brook Catering Co. Candy Richardson

Diane Vegter

English Department members who donated to the Scholarship Fund.

English Co-Curricular Awards for 2016-2017

Outstanding English Students of the Quarter

2020 Chloe Devens 2019 Julia Langer 2018 Julia Cicero 2017 Makena Walsh

Outstanding Senior in English

2016 Morgan Pullia 2017 Owen Allen

I.E. Speech Team

The team earned 67 individual awards and two team awards this season. Also, the team was awarded the IHSA All-Academic Team for 2016-2017.

Sectionals Oualifiers:

Julia Cicero Genevieve Corkery Kyla Denwood

Outstanding Speaker:

Genevieve Corkery

Most Improved Speaker:

John DeAngelo

IHSA Dramatics Competition:

3rd place State Finish, "The Rise and Fall of Little Voice"

Earning individual honors were the following students:

All-State Cast: Juniors Julia Cicero, Genevieve Corkery and John DeAngelo All-State Lighting: Juniors Marissa Fairbank and Daniel Moses

All-State Sound: Seniors Owen Allen and Camille Claudio

To earn individual honors at State, the students needed to be recognized for their work by 4 of the 5 judges.

All of these students also earned individual honors at the IHSA Sectional tournament at Reavis HS in March. The team took second place at the Reavis Sectional.

2017 Inductees

Seniors

Decker, Kaleb Harris, Alexis

Juniors Ahmed, Reshma Akhtar, Taha Alibudbud, Arielle Almaraz, Maria Balsitis, Taylor Camacho, Jennifer Chaudhary, Maawera Cicero, Julia Cicero, Kathleen Cookingham, Nicholas Corkery, Genevieve Corona, Jennifer Cuccinotto, Anna Dahlstrand, Krista Davis, Mia Doyle, Sarah Ebeling, Stephanie Eldeen, Mohamed Fairbank, Marissa Frank, Shannon Gallegos, Karolyn Gill, Jason Gomez, Kathleen Gonzalez, Daniel Graf. Aleksandra Greiwe, Lili Guerrero, Tyler Hield, Maximilian Hippensteel, Zoe Iftikhar, Wardha Imran, Yumna Inoshita, Gabriel Janopoulos, Megan Jenkins, Nice

Jones, Briana

Jones, Mitchell

Joyce, Lindsey

Kamm, Noah Kassal, Brooke Keefe, Timothy Khan, Mariyyah Khokhar, Nawal Klingelhoffer, Angela Lee, Esther Loth, Brandon Maris, Priscilla Martens, Henry Morser, John Moses, Daniel Nolan, Quinn Nordensten, Austin Nuss, Lillian O'Connor, Katherine Pakeltis, Samuel Parrillo, Sophia Quaiver, Stephanie Ragucci, Jessica Ramirez, Nayeli Rojek, Ethan Ryan, Savannah Rvniec, Jessica Sabatino, Nicolas Shah, Sveda Sousa, Adam Waheed, Ammar Yao, Evelyn Zachariah. Millie

Sophomores Agin, Anthony Ahmed, Mohammed Ashar, Khizra Becker, Kianna Behrendt, Trevor Colby, Stephanie Danielson, Michael Danielson, Thomas Das. Sara Davis, Andria

Dewyer, Charlotte Dowling, Linsey Esposito, Christopher Essary, Taylor Fatani, Avesha Foley, Matthew Galicia, Bianca Gallagher, Litzy Gushiken, Ashleigh Hathaway, Jackson Heneghan, Maura Hitzeman, Gavin Hunter, Deviona Huttner, Joseph Jaent, Joseph Judd. Olivia Kapica, Nicole Karcz, Kaitlyn Khan, Huda Kwak, Margaret

Lee, Danielle Leskiewicz, Daniel Mazeika, Valerie McCann, Katelyn Michael, James Ortega, Karla Palacios, Autumn Paul, Cassidy Pelesinas, Tomas Polanek, Maxwell Rickord, Hope Ross, Annie Ross, Cooper Satsangi, Ashish Schmid, Maureen Soto, Jessica Trimper, Messina Williams, Pauline Worden, Samantha Zulawski, Andrea

2016-2017 Board of Officers

Khalilah Brooks, President

Being an officer for NEHS this year has been a great experience! It was fun to plan for events at the meetings with Mrs. McCann and the other officers. My favorite part of being an officer was volunteering with the other officers and members of NEHS, on the various events that we sponsored this year. My plans for next year are to attend the University of Iowa and major in biology and pre-optometry.

India Garner, Project Coordinator

For the past three years, I was able to be a part of National English honor society, but this year as a senior, I was able to have the opportunity of being the project coordinator. It has been an incredible experience to be a part of something bigger; for instance, helping schedule and plan exciting fundraisers, book drives, and volunteer work all throughout the year. I want to wish the best of luck to the new student leaders of the organization. It is truly an honor to be recognized as a role model or a type of leader in the academic subject of English.

Leah Gillono, Secretary

I enjoyed being a bigger part of the organization and having an impact on our event planning. Working with the other officers and Mrs. McCann was always a fun time! This role has given me an opportunity to become a leader to my peers which was a really great experience. This club has been a good way for all of the members and us as officers to raise money to give back and reach out to the community while incorporating English and reading into lives through events like our book drive, Westmore Elementary School and Helen Plum Library volunteering. I'm grateful to have been given this chance to make a difference.

2016-2017 Board of Officers

Rachel Wagner, Media Coordinator

Being an officer this year has been so much fun. It has been great to have a larger role in this group. I really enjoyed planning our fundraisers and events that our club hosted. I'm looking forward to our field trip to Westmore Elementary School to work with their young students, as it was a huge success last year! Next year, I will be attending San Diego State University to study speech, hearing, and language sciences.

This year's Keynote Speaker: Regina Wathier

Regina Wathier received her Bachelor of Science in both Theatre Education and Acting from Illinois State University, and earned her Master of Arts in Directing from Roosevelt University. She has taught at Willowbrook since 1998. She teaches English 10 Honors, Introduction to Speech, and the Theatre Arts/Acting classes. She directs the fall musical and spring contest play, and is sponsor of the International Thespian Society, an Honor Society for Theatre Arts.